0 3 min 1 yr

2022-02-02 10:32:59

The schedule of Pakistan-Australia series is likely to be modified. Photograph: AFP/file  

LAHORE: The schedule of a extremely anticipated series between Pakistan and Australia is likely to be modified as Cricket Australia has prompt kicking off the video games from Rawalpindi as a substitute of Karachi, sources privy to the matter mentioned.

In the meantime, as per the schedule unveiled by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the primary Check match is to be performed between the 2 sides from March 3 in Karachi whereas the second Check is to be performed from March 12-16 in Rawalpindi.

In all, Tim Paine’s Australian facet is scheduled to tackle the Males in Inexperienced for 3 Check matches, an equal variety of ODIs and one T20 match.

This may be Australia’s first go to to Pakistan in 24 years.

“Talks are underway between the officials of PCB and Cricket Australia to finalize the schedule,” sources mentioned on Wednesday.

As per the schedule, the groups will play a 3rd Check match in March 21-25 in Lahore.

The Exams will be performed as a part of the ICC World Check Championship, whereas the ODIs will be related to the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup Tremendous League – a 13-team occasion from which the seven highest-placed sides and the hosts, India, will qualify straight for the occasion correct in 2023.

All 4 white-ball matches of the series will happen in Lahore from March 29 to April 5, the PCB had mentioned.

The final time an Australian squad performed a series in Pakistan was in 1998 when Mark Taylor led them to a 1-0 series victory – their first since Richie Benaud’s facet defeated Fazal Mahmood’s workforce by 2-0 within the 1959-60 series.

Between the 2 series, Pakistan hosted Australia in 1964-65 (drew 0-0), 1979-80 (gained 1-0), 1982-83 (gained 3-0), 1988-89 (gained 1-0) and 1994-95 (gained 1-0).

Pakistan staged the final 4 series with Australia offshore – 2002-2003 (Colombo and Sharjah, Pakistan misplaced 3-0), 2010 (drew 1-1 in England), 2014-15 (gained 2-0 within the UAE) and 2018-19 (gained 1-0 within the UAE).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *